Skip to content

Another take on the climate change issue.

July 17, 2015

So I live in the Dominican Republic, in the Caribbean, where summer is normally very hot. That means that we are pretty used to heat, but it also means that we get to feel heat variations a little more, because when it gets hotter here, it gets reeeally hot!

Now, there has been a lot of discussion over the causes and the effects of climate change, some go as far as to deny its existence. Most of these talks go about economic and social effects of these changes, and that is good. Today, however, I want to take a look at another aspect, that may very well be placed in any of the categories aforementioned, but that maybe, just like me until now, you have not thought about it that way.

I was just having lunch at a fast food place (don´t say anything) and a whole lot of teenage boys came in, they were wearing soccer uniforms, so I guess they are participating in a summer camp. I started thinking about how I used to spend my summers as a kid. Back then, summer camps were not as popular as they are now, or maybe I just didn´t know about them. If they were popular, we could not afford it anyway.

But I was lucky, I had relatives in the country side, I got to go to “el campo” to my grandparents and my uncles. We got to go swimming to the ponds, we got to help harvest corn and peanut and many other crops from our family land. But now, when I go to my grand parents I can not show my sons the places where I used to swim, nor where my grandfather used to have “el conuco”, it is all dry.

You see, this climate change thing, has effects even over how low income families can spend their summer. We need to do something about it and we need to do it now, not for us, as the effects of any action will not be seen right away, but for the future generations, for our grandchildren, so they have a “campo” to go to.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

edcampRD

Movimiento EdCamp en República Dominicana

Eladio Jiménez Madé

Tech Integration Coach

Oscar Relentos

Welcome to my catharsis

The Innovative Teacher

Learning. Leading. Teaching.

TipsNStyle

A lifestyle and fashion blog for the Best Advices around!

mrspepedotcom

Educational Leadership in a 21st Century Digital World

Science Teacher In Training

Just another WordPress.com site

TechCrunch

Startup and Technology News

Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

Tap Into Teen Minds

Sparking Curiosity in Mathematics Through Tasks that Are Contextual, Visual and Concrete

Mundo En Blanco

Activa el poder de tu curiosidad...

Android Bethy

Android apps

Inem cursos

cursos gratuitos para desempleados

e-aprendizaje

Nuevas tecnologías para nuevos aprendizajes

Sapientiae

Changing the way you learn

